26 years in the making but such simple ingredients …

The Food Flunky Blog is now hosted here (thefoodflunky.com) click here to see the new site and read all your favourite posts!! Tom aka The Food Flunky

Well it’s an ice-breaker of sorts!

A well developed crop I think you’ll agree? … the hair! (I’ll talk about the courgettes later).

It’s rather difficult to start this post, especially with a mandatory introduction.

Hopefully once this initial post has been created, I can kick back and let the food do the talking? … as if!

Without trying to create a needless manifesto, I do feel a need to justify my blogging-clogging and hopefully substantiate my presence on these pages.

Well here we go …

In a nutshell it’s “food” and I’m reckoning that these rambling posts will be some sanctuary for myself, friends and family, who, I hope, enjoy the food I create, but would rather not have the reasoning, provenance and historical importance of the various ingredients rammed down their throats.

At least now they’ll have the option of engaging me in my culinary pursuits and I’ll be able to vent my enthusiasm in a documented medium with a wistful and romantic notion that somebody out there might actually be interested in the fact I made a pot of jam (to come).

Even if only for the sustanence of life, I think we all share an affiliation and passion for food. I know for me it’s been nurtured from very much home grown roots (no pun intended).

I was born into an environment where food was currency. My old dear, confidant and walking/talking reference library, runs a catering business in my hometown of Newcastle upon Tyne. She is undoubtedly my biggest culinary sensei and the cause for the purgatory that finds me consumed with the subject.

Having been brought-up on the delectable scraps of jobs well passed and through the sheer lack of my mother’s time and patience to produce the food requested on the whimsical wants of a Geordie teenager, I’ve actually had the opportunity to witness and taste mini food revolutions on a daily basis.

For approximately 24 years I was an innocent bystander to food. Although for most of them I’ve cooked with vigor and a passion, I think it’s only been recently that I’ve begun to understand, or at least want to understand food.

And so I find myself here … 26 and teetering on the edge of a stock pot abyss not knowing which way to stir the spoon …

This blog is intended to do nothing more than chart this journey and/or free fall.

And for anyone who gives a hoot, I’ll post the vital stats in a bit 😉

Down to business!

5 responses to “26 years in the making but such simple ingredients …

  1. dear tom, love the enthuisam, verbal joy and foraging. Tomorrow I host a dinner party, so i think its mushrooms pasties to start, any ideas for a main ?
    regards dennis

  2. Salut Dennis,

    And thanks for the kind comments, I’m glad you liked the mushroom recipe.

    I had a quick look at your website and hope the garden’s fully stocked with fresh herbs and vegetables for my main course recipe suggestion?

    Without being too cliche of the French and purely taking (an enviable) advantage of your local produce might I be so bold as to suggest a Coq au Vin?

    Again a big flavour dish! But hey why not it is September after all and I’ve heard that the corn fed Capon may be in season?

    Caramelised smoked lardons and onions with a few fat garlic cloves removed from a large stock pot. A whole pieced Capon added to the pan, skin-side down and crisped then a quick flash of Napoleon Brandy (no cultural pun intended) to flambe an remove the sticky fat residue then the caramelised goodies re-added to the pot, a bay leaf, fresh thyme, mountains of black pepper and a bottle or two of a BIG red Bordeaux.

    Bring to the boil on the hop, slam into the oven at 1o0 degrees C and leave to bubble happily for 3-4 hours or until you’ve gathered the energy to leave your seat. remove the bones and you should be left with a pan of meat, wine and cooking juice … FORMIDABLE! (de la boulet??)

    Suggested serving would be whole roasted par-boiled baby potatoes encrusted with rock salt and rosemary and a wilted spinach tossed with toasted walnuts and drizzled with a tart balsamic vinegar reduction.

    Obviously serve with gallons of St Emilion, mountains of your superb bread and butter to mop the juices followed by a cheese board that it would offend even the biggest dairy loving Brit.

    Tell me how it goes!?

    Tom

    (I’m inspired by Dennis’ and his website and will endeavor to produce all of the above)

  3. Dear Tom, thanks for taking the time for such a generous reply recipe. Our neighbours has poulet elevee en plein air en maize, very free range you have to cycle through them to get to the house ! So with home grown butter nut squash soup to start we will give it a go ! thanks again

    regards dennis

  4. Wow, you certainley have a wonderful way with words, if your cooking is as good as your writing you must be a great chef.

    As a Geordie a long way from home I was really attracted by the comment about Pumphreys. As always Im hungry for news from home. I will bookmark your blog it is very entertaining. I do have a blog though I tend to neglect it a lot, and its not were near as good as yours.

    Loved the recipe for the mushroom pasties, YUM. Thanks for posting.

    Chris

  5. AUSTIN METSELAAR

    Hi how can i excite some passion into pork chops they are lacking in taste and texture.Meat now is so costly what is best to buy please can you help me.

Leave a Reply

